Back to Genesis

If you are a new follower, welcome! and for those of you following me from my old Blogger blog, I’m so glad to see you, welcome old friend…

In the past few weeks I have been revisiting the book of Genesis. My original postings were a verse by verse examination of the first chapter in Genesis but, not being a Bible scholar, I found the task became rather daunting rather quickly.  So I decided to stop biting off more than I can chew and examine small chunks as they came to me.  Another reason for a “reboot” on Genesis is a new perspective I have on some of the material.  You see, the pastor of my church has been presenting a series on Genesis.  I love it when Pastor Brad teaches.  He often makes me sit down and revisit ideas I’ve held onto for years.  Sometimes I’ve held onto those ideas with a stranglehold.  This series is no exception to that.

I’ve read the Bible off and on for years.  I’ve had various chapters and verses read to me in church.  I’ve read the Bible straight through from Genesis to Revelations and not understood much. I’ve read it with and without commentaries.  I’ve read it in a chronological format, formatted to support women, to support addicts, to support archeology-philes and on and on ad nauseam. So this much I’ve always seemed to know: the Bible is God-breathed and God-inspired.  God’s word is truth.  And most importantly, (at least in my opinion), the Bible is God’s love story to us… His children.  That us is everyone, believer and non-believer alike.  God loves each and every one of us, whether or not we believe in Him, whether or not we love Him, whether or not we are sinners.  Oops! Let me correct that…  we are ALL sinners and He loves us all in spite of our sins.  In spite of our sins.

Do you get that?  It’s very important that you do.  You see, here’s the important part…  We are ALL sinners.  Everyone sins, we can’t help it, its human nature.  I don’t care if you believe in sin or not.  I don’t care if you refuse to acknowledge that you are  a sinner.  The Bible says “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” –Romans 3:23 and if the Bible says it, I believe it.  Sin started in Genesis chapter 3.  Sin started in Genesis chapter 3 and has progressed steadily ever since.   In Genesis chapter 3 our need for redemption became apparent.  Fortunately, God had a plan for that.

 

About Go Send or Disobey

John Piper said it succiently... "Go, send, or disobey." This is my journey along path to be a missionary of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

